July 17, 2009
CUPIDS, NL Cupids400 Inc. announced today that construction has begun on the Cupids Legacy Centre.
The $5 million building is being constructed on the site of the former United Church School on Seaforest Drive in Cupids and will include the creation of a new Exhibit Hall, a family history resource centre, the Cupids Cove Plantation Archaeology Lab, and a multipurpose community/arts centre. Designed by the architectural firm of Ron Fougere Associates of St. John`s, the building incorporates an adaptive reuse of the existing structure, as well as elements of environmental sustainability. The contract for construction is awarded to Redwood Construction of Mount Pearl. The Interpretation and Exhibit Design contract is awarded to Myrrden Enterprises and BaAM Productions of Ontario. Official opening is scheduled for early summer of 2010.
Funding for construction of the Cupids Legacy Centre and development of the Interpretation Plan is provided by the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador through the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation ($3.5m) and the Government of Canada through the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency ($1.5m).
“The Cupids Legacy Centre will become an anchor attraction for the region and tell the story of the First English Colony in Canada”, states Roy Dawe, Chair of Cupids400 Inc. “It will also highlight and celebrate the evolution of our communities and people and stand as a legacy of our history and culture as Newfoundlanders and Labradorians.”
Cupids400 Inc is the not-for-profit organization formed in 2001 to plan and execute the 2010 Celebrations and the design and construction of an interpretation centre to mark the 400th Anniversary of the founding of the first English settlement in Canada at Cupers Cove, now Cupids, by John Guy in 1610.
Mr. Peter Laracy
Mr. Roy Dawe